theasianEMT

Forum Probie
Hey all, I'm a current EMT with experience on a CCT (ALS)/ BLS hospital-based EMS ambulance as well as 911 hospital experience. I am considering going to paramedic school and moving someplace else to get picked up at a municipal EMS agency. I do not mind having to start as an EMT-I first and getting promoted btw. Anyone have any suggestions on the best places to go as far as getting employed? I will also be looking towards signing up for the National guard as well as an Health Services Officer...Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated! :)

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
My best advice would be to look at Texas. Theres a large number of good municipal and county systems

OP
OP
theasianEMT

theasianEMT

Forum Probie
Thanks for your response! I will look into Texas I have heard a lot of their EMS systems. Any other places that you would recommend in other states? Like somewhere out east?

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Thanks for your response! I will look into Texas I have heard a lot of their EMS systems. Any other places that you would recommend in other states? Like somewhere out east?
Durham or wake county ems in north Carolina. East baton rogue EMS in Louisiana

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
I would not look at NC until after you have completed paramedic school, they are a heavy ALS state and their EMT turnover is pretty bad (at least compared to their paramedic turnover) for non-homegrown EMTs.

OP
OP
theasianEMT

theasianEMT

Forum Probie
I would not look at NC until after you have completed paramedic school, they are a heavy ALS state and their EMT turnover is pretty bad (at least compared to their paramedic turnover) for non-homegrown EMTs.