Has being an EMT changed how you look at life?

jerellem

Forum Crew Member
Has being an EMT changed how you look at life? If so, how? I'm sure seeing death and saving lives HAS to have an effect on one mentally. How has it altered your look on life? I'm a recently certified EMT and can't wait to find a job and I was just curious.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
It certainly has given me perspective in life, as have all of my life experiences. Death and loss has a huge impact, but I find the positive calls where I was able to provide compassionate care most memorable. Sometimes I amazed myself.

EMS has not drastically changed my life or who I am as a person, but has given me invaluable knowledge and experience. For many years I looked to my career to provide me direction and happiness, and while it has it many ways, I find that my career isn't who I am as a person, but instead what I do to make a living.

Good luck!

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
That about sums it up for me too.

As with firefighting and law enforcement (and vacuum cleaner sales door to door) you are given the duty and privilige to see people at their best and worst, their moments of need and some moments of sheer horseapples. The public and your co workers will get the same opportunity regarding you.
Big thing is don't get all melodramatic about it, and remember no matter how much you see, someone else out there has seen more.

ZVNEMT

Forum Lieutenant
seeing how Nursing Homes staff cares very little for the well-being of the people depending on their care... I have alot less faith in people. I've also noticed that when people do something, they feel like they deserve a reward for doing what any decent human would have done... yea...

on the other hand... I have a greater appreciation for the time I've got. seeing a 26 y/o, generally healthy girl drop dead on a bus got me thinking about that. "Enjoy every sandwich."

Seaglass

Lesser Ambulance Ape