Training to be certified in First Aid/CPR/AED ?'s

trevor1189

Forum Captain
Ok I am a college student. I am currently premed. I am taking a course which will certify me in the above following. I am thinking of taking a EMT-B if I can find one this summer then volunteering at my local FD. I have a legal sort of question. The class covers emergencies in depth. Since I am planning on becoming EMT-B and I want to be prepared for emergencies, I ordered a Trauma kit from Gall's http://galls.com/style.html?assort=general_catalog&style=TK085

I just wanted to know if there is anything in that kit that I cannot use assuming I am certified in the above. I just don't want to use a bag mask or a neck brace if that is out of the scope of practice for the certifications I have. I went with one of the complete kits so if/when I become EMT-B I'll have a kit in my car to be able to help. I figured it was good to have since first aid/cpr skills are good to have but if you don't have the equipment with you it isn't much good.

Help is appreciated.

PS I was certified in CPR before and First AID but never recertified. We have learned about the reasonable man test and I just dont want to be found negligent if I use any items in that kit if/when there is an emergency requiring attention.

bstone

Forum Deputy Chief
Trevor, you'll find most EMTs here don't carry much on them. I used to carry a BP, steth and some 4x4s in my car but the BP and steth have gone missing. I always carry a CPR mask on my keychain as I have little desire to to mouth to mouth without protection. However the Galls bag is meant for professional use in an ambulance or some sort of on-call situation. I'd personally suggest you not go with that bag but rather something much more basic.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
If you weren't specifically trained on it's use, don't use it.

Basically, any medications;
1 Ipecac Syrup
1 Charcoal
1 Ammonia Inhalant
1 Insta-Glucose