Electrical activity with LVAD

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
Do patients with LVAD devices have any abnormal (specific to LVAD) ECG changes? Does anyone have any examples?

NTXFF

Forum Crew Member
We've got a guy in our district with one. I've got some 12 leads I'll snag from the station and scan in. I remember low limb lead voltage and a ventricular abnormality. We have to to an EKG on him every 2 months and keep them on file so that we can see any subtle changes that may appear if we are called to his house.

jwk

Forum Captain
We've got a guy in our district with one. I've got some 12 leads I'll snag from the station and scan in. I remember low limb lead voltage and a ventricular abnormality. We have to to an EKG on him every 2 months and keep them on file so that we can see any subtle changes that may appear if we are called to his house.
I have no experience with LVAD's and I'm kinda playing devil's advocate here, but who pays for an EMS EKG every two months? I'd be pretty surprised if that's covered by insurance.

OP
OP
NPO

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
Out of curiosity, do you guys have specific resuscitation information on file for this patient? I'm told sometimes LVAD manufacturers send instructions to medical agencies in areas their patients live.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I flew an LVAD patient once with absolutely no electical activity. It can vary upon the patient.

NTXFF

Forum Crew Member
I have no experience with LVAD's and I'm kinda playing devil's advocate here, but who pays for an EMS EKG every two months? I'd be pretty surprised if that's covered by insurance.
He doesn't pay for it. We keep it on file that way we're not behind the 8 ball. If he has a follow up appointment he brings us a copy from his doctor as well.
Out of curiosity, do you guys have specific resuscitation information on file for this patient? I'm told sometimes LVAD manufacturers send instructions to medical agencies in areas their patients live.