Difference In Aha And Arc Bls Cpr/aed Classes

futureemt

Forum Crew Member
can someone tell me if there a difference in the two different courses.. I have mine with AHA and if I'm already certified one card is all I need right??

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
There is minute differences. AHA is usually required by the medical profession ( Helathcare provider course), ARC is not usually recognized as an official educator.

All CPR standards are from the Emergency Cardiac Care Committee (ECC) that makes formal recommendations and changes. The AHA adapts these, and ARC usually as well or modifies the standards so the public can understand them better.

R/r 911

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
I'm an ARC instructor. Rid's comments are correct. The AHA and ARC standards are pretty much the same. The ARC just teaches it in a way that the lay citizen responder understands.

MRE

Forum Captain
If you are talking about AHA BLS for healthcare providers and ARC CPR for the Professional Rescuer, the only real difference between the two is the way that they handle an obstructed airway.

For conscious adults and children, the AHA says to do abdominal thrusts (heimlich manuver) and the ARC says to do alternating cycles of 5 back blows and 5 abdominal thrusts (yes this is for adults and children). Conscious airway obstruction for infants is the same for both (alternating cycles of 5 back blows and 5 chest thrusts).

For unconscious adults, children and infants, the AHA says to do CPR (and check for objects in the airway). The ARC says to do 5 compressions, check for an object in the airway and re-attempt breaths (very similar to AHA except less compressions).

As Rid has already mentioned, AHA is usually required by the medical community, but my EMT-B instructor said that ARC CPR for the Professional Rescuer would have been accepted as well in Massachusetts.