Advice for a teacher

Emma

Forum Lieutenant
Hello all. Hopefully this is the right place to post this.

I am looking for advice on getting some better first aid training. My local Red Cross has been very unhelpful when I called.

I'm a teacher. I want to be better prepared for the various injuries that happen when you take a group of students anywhere. I have been teaching high school and middle school, with a field course for high school kids out west each summer. I just took a group whale watching for the weekend and ended up with a broken arm, a finger smashed in a door, and spectacular food poisoning.

We had to wait around for the ambulance to get there and I realized that I don't really know what to do.

I do have CPR already, and keep that updated. What type of classes should I be taking to learn more first aid? What type of organizations would offer these classes? I don't mind paying, or commuting a class that takes a while to complete. I'm in Washington, DC.

Thanks in advance for your help

reaper

Working Bum
Normally the red cross is very good at them. If they are not helping you, you can look at local community colleges for first aid classes. Or maybe take an EMT class. Takes about 3-6 months at night classes. It is up to you, how musch do you want to learn.

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
How exactly did the conversation with the Red Cross go? After all, teaching classes are their bread and butter. I'm surprised they didn't get you signed up for a class.

OP
OP
E

Emma

Forum Lieutenant
The conversation with the Red Cross went like this

Me: I'd like to take some first aid classes
Them: Ok, we have CPR
Me: I already took that class, so I don't need CPR. What kind of first aid classes do you guys offer? I am interested in a beginner sort of class.
Them: You're sure you don't want CPR?
Me: .......... No.
Them: We have CPR on Monday Thursday and Saturday nights!

Maybe I'll just call back and hope I get a better volunteer this time.