6 months unconditional availability

martor

Forum Crew Member
The private company I work for has just reduced the EMT hourly rate so I am looking to move on from it. I have been working as an EMT for 4 months, no prior job experience. I planning on applying for Rural/Metro and AMR in San Diego. I dont really want to move on to another private without a 911 contract. I wish to work on a Bridge unit. What I am worried about is:

I heard that those companies are asking for a 6 months unconditional availability period and working full time.
I can handle the full time if it really is a deal breaker, but I am going to school full time and I can't work for 2 days of the week.

Any suggestions or extra information?

MrJones

Iconoclast
The private company I work for has just reduced the EMT hourly rate so I am looking to move on from it. I have been working as an EMT for 4 months, no prior job experience. I planning on applying for Rural/Metro and AMR in San Diego. I dont really want to move on to another private without a 911 contract. I wish to work on a Bridge unit. What I am worried about is:

I heard that those companies are asking for a 6 months unconditional availability period and working full time.
I can handle the full time if it really is a deal breaker, but I am going to school full time and I can't work for 2 days of the week.

My suggestion: Apply, and should you get an interview, lay your scheduling issue on the table. They'll either be willing to work with you on it or they won't. If the it's the former, congratulations, you've got a new job. If the latter, all you've lost is a few hours of your time (while, at the same time, gaining valuable interviewing experience).

VCEMT

Forum Captain
You want a job? You want to work? Get over it. Not willing to sacrifice, not someone I'd hire.

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
You want a job? You want to work? Get over it. Not willing to sacrifice, not someone I'd hire.