What not to say or do with a patient?

ironcoffin

Forum Ride Along
Just wondering what are somethings that you shouldn't say to a patient as a joke to get some good laughs. Here are some of mine I heard and ones I want to say.

"Well atleast he isn't brain dead yet." Edmonton Medic picking up a pt with Cushings.

"Atleast we don't have to listen to any more country music!"- Me after BVJ 09.

"So you come here often?"- I used this on a few people in the waiting room.

"Well no wonder no one likes hospitals since there isn't a bar in it!"- to partner.

"Oh me? I'm an EMT this Halloween? Still need help?"- waiting for halloween lol

"Here hold my beer. What seems to be the problem?" - So tempting but so wrong.

Also another thing a service of mine did. We were working a concert and we where sheet dragging this 19 y/o with ETOH and me and another person where some what grabbing the sheet at the head. We lower her slowly and I we were paying attention to the rest of the body when we heard a light "Thud". We both turn around and start to giggle saying how its not funny. The boyfriend was with the girl.

Same concert this guy is on some extacy. We get him on the stretcher and my partner pulls his flash light out and shines it on the ceiling in circles. The guy starts tripping out. Giggles soon follow.

There is also this one http://www.emtcity.com/index.php/topic/12237-things-not-to-say-during-a-delivery/ which I am saying no matter how old/mature the female is just to hear her reaction!

Last edited by a moderator:

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
Just wondering what are somethings that you shouldn't say to a patient as a joke to get some good laughs. Here are some of mine I heard and ones I want to say.

"Well atleast he isn't brain dead yet." Edmonton Medic picking up a pt with Cushings.

"Atleast we don't have to listen to any more country music!"- Me after BVJ 09.

"So you come here often?"- I used this on a few people in the waiting room.