Vanbulances? Any thoughts`

medictinysc

Forum Crew Member
I work as an ALS provider for an IFT/Emergent 3rd service provider. I have a few compliants about type II ambulances "vanbulances"

1. There is not enough crew room.
  2. There is not enough room for supplies.
  3. There is no way to gain access to supplies easly while patient loaded.
  4. If one this is out of place the whole truck goes to :censored::censored::censored::censored:.
  5. If you don't have a partener that know how to work in a vanbulance then life is hard.

Anyone else?

Last edited by a moderator:

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I've learned to work in it and put supplies in my reach.

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
I've learned to work in it and put supplies in my reach.

Me too... While I really like the bigger modular style units, I have found that usually I can do what needs to be done in the vanbulances. At times, though, it can get a bit crowded...

truetiger

Forum Asst. Chief
We use them for transfers and I absolutely hate them. I'm not a big guy by any means, avg height and weight, and I don't fit in them. I can't sit on the bench seat without my feet being forced under the cot, can't move easily from the bench seat to the airway chair, can't carry our full array of equipment, etc.

Hunter

Forum Asst. Chief
We use them for transfers and I absolutely hate them. I'm not a big guy by any means, avg height and weight, and I don't fit in them. I can't sit on the bench seat without my feet being forced under the cot, can't move easily from the bench seat to the airway chair, can't carry our full array of equipment, etc.

I've had to do cct calls on them, if we can fit everything our cct units there's a way you can fit regular als in there.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
I actually prefer the vanbulances over the boxes. Everything is within easy reach from the bench seat. Also if you start to loose your balance an arm stretch away and you have a cabinet to support yourself.

truetiger