Truck vs Rig

LaceyA

Forum Crew Member
Im new to this site :) Im working on my emt-b and then headed to paramedic classes. I work for a hospital right now that i love! Im trying to see if working in the ER as a paramedic is worth it? The EMS Service here is ok but not to sure i want to work for them! Has any one worked in the ER as a paramedic? Pros vs Cons on both.

Thanks!!

Also debating on getting my RN after i have my Paramedic, any one else see any
Advantages of having both?

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I worked in the ER as a medic. What you can do in one ER you cannot do in others though. In the hospital, your job description and title provides your scope of practice. One ER I worked in my Job title was ER Paramedic, and I could function as a full medic and had a full patient load where I was primary. At my current ER, I am an ER Tech. That means I just splint, drop lines, do EKGs, and assist nurses.

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
I never worked as a paramedic or an EMT in the ER, but I would strongly suggest that you continue on to get your RN. More room for advancement, better pay, and more options in general.

I currently work as both an EMT and an RN, and I like doing both! If you have both, that obviously leaves more options open. Plus, there's the possibility that it will make you more marketable if you decide to do flight nursing or something similar, though others with more experience with this might disagree!

Angel

Paramedic
If you want to be a nurse, skip medic (for now) get your RN and challenge to become a medic. You'll still have to complete an internship but you just saved yourself so much time and money.
If I wanted to be a nurse, I would've gone this route.

OP
OP
LaceyA

LaceyA

Forum Crew Member
If you want to be a nurse, skip medic (for now) get your RN and challenge to become a medic. You'll still have to complete an internship but you just saved yourself so much time and money.