Teaching the Art of the Differential Diagnosis

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief
How do you teach the art of the DDx to a newbie?

I don't think I have the "art" (or the science, for that matter) 100% down, but I'd like to think I have the core (BLS-level) concept.

So, back to the question - what's the best way to teach this? Scenarios? Reviewing clinical presentations that have multiple possible etiologies (difficulty breathing) and add signs/symptoms to lean you towards certain/away from other possible causes?

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
When I was a paramedic student, my preceptor used to have me come up with at least 3 differentials based on the initial dispatch. Then we'd talk about it on the way. I'd have to come up with 3 on scene and then we'd talk about that after the call. It worked well for me. It got me in the mindset of thinking outside the box. (God, I hate that phrase)

VentMonkey

Family Guy
How do you teach the art of the DDx to a newbie?

I don't think I have the "art" (or the science, for that matter) 100% down, but I'd like to think I have the core (BLS-level) concept.

So, back to the question - what's the best way to teach this? Scenarios? Reviewing clinical presentations that have multiple possible etiologies (difficulty breathing) and add signs/symptoms to lean you towards certain/away from other possible causes?
I am not an instructor or preceptor anymore, but this course helped me a ton when I went through paramedic school. If it's available in your---or anyone's---region, I highly recommend it. Unfortunately my card is about to expire, and I still have no word from our clinical people as to when our next class is:(. Differential diagnosis can be a difficult concept to grasp, especially for the new provider, so again, this course takes much of "what could be wrong", and paints a fairly good clinical picture for prehospital providers.

http://www.naemt.org/education/amls/amls.aspx

OP
OP
EpiEMS

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief