Rules of Four

cointosser13

Forum Crew Member
I don't know why I don't understand the "rules of four", or more commonly known as the Lidocaine clock method. Can someone explain it to me? I looked up online but none of the examples make sense to me. I'm a new medic student, so this is all new to me. Just trying to understand.

Merck

Forum Lieutenant
I don't know why I don't understand the "rules of four", or more commonly known as the Lidocaine clock method. Can someone explain it to me? I looked up online but none of the examples make sense to me. I'm a new medic student, so this is all new to me. Just trying to understand.

I found this with a quick search - gives a basic explanation well enough:

http://www.swgeneral.com/assets/1/7/EMS_Calculating_Drip_Rates.pdf

But I have to be honest, deeply learning and understanding the math - concentrations, drip sets, etc - will serve you far better in the long run. Don't rely on tricks to get by. If that's what you use on a call for quick reference then that's fine, but be sure you have a solid understanding of the math. It will only take a bit of practice but will serve you in the long-run as your career progresses.

Oh, and don't give people lidocaine.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
I found this with a quick search - gives a basic explanation well enough:

http://www.swgeneral.com/assets/1/7/EMS_Calculating_Drip_Rates.pdf

But I have to be honest, deeply learning and understanding the math - concentrations, drip sets, etc - will serve you far better in the long run. Don't rely on tricks to get by. If that's what you use on a call for quick reference then that's fine, but be sure you have a solid understanding of the math. It will only take a bit of practice but will serve you in the long-run as your career progresses.

Oh, and don't give people lidocaine.

I agree with everything you said up until the last line.

Any particular reason as to why?

LACoGurneyjockey

Forum Asst. Chief