Question about identifying yourself

MedicDelta

Forum Crew Member
So I have a question that probably hasn't been asked before and I was curious for an answer. I'm an EMR from Canada, do you think it's ok to identity myself as a paramedic? I find it hard to explain to people what I am when they ask or when I have to give first aid(has actually happened more times than you'd think). Nobody has any clue what an Emergency Medical Responder is, so I usually just tell people I'm a paramedic. Is that ok to do? Also, do you think it's ok to wear personal clothing that identifies me as a 'paramedic'? Such as a t-shirt that says 'paramedic' on it just for example. Thanks for the help in advance.

9D4

Forum Asst. Chief
I personally wouldn't.
I think that it should be sufficient to say something of the lines of "I have first aid training", should be enough, no reason to go into titles, unless they specifically ask.
Another question, why would you ever need personal clothing that identifies you as such?

OP
OP
MedicDelta

MedicDelta

Forum Crew Member
I personally wouldn't.
I think that it should be sufficient to say something of the lines of "I have first aid training", should be enough, no reason to go into titles, unless they specifically ask.
Another question, why would you ever need personal clothing that identifies you as such?
Thanks for your input, I appreciate it. And I dunno, I just thought it would be cool to have a shirt that like that. But at the same time I wouldn't want to misidentify myself as being a paramedic when I'm not technically one.

OP
OP
MedicDelta

MedicDelta

Forum Crew Member
Why stop there? Tell 'em you're a doctor. That way even the folks who don't know what a paramedic is will be impressed.

Now - wanna guess what my recommendation might be? ;)
Yes I understand lol. Thanks for your input.

JPINFV

Gadfly
Are you a paramedic?

If yes, then tell people you're a paramedic.

If no, then don't tell people you're a paramedic.

OP
OP
MedicDelta