Preparing for critical care paramedic training. Tips?

RoadRat

Forum Probie
I've chosen to attend a 4-day critical care training course and then test for CCP. I'm doing this early in my EMS career because I'm still young, single, with no kids. I want to take advantage of my time while I still can.

I've been a medic in a moderate-volume 911 area for one year. Before that, I rode as an AEMT for an IFT company running renal roundup. I have a good baseline of experience, but I still have a crap-ton to learn.

I'm a smart person and I don't doubt my ability to learn this advanced knowledge - I graduated top of my class - but it's a daunting task. In four days? Geez. That's a lot of info to shove into the brain during a few grueling late nights in a hotel room.

The school is Dec 1-4. It's now September. It's time for me to put my nose to the ground and find the best path to this, especially considering I'm a very young medic.

Any CCPs out there with some tips?

Thank you in advance.

Note - I won't wait until later in my career. Nothing guarantees life won't get in the way two or three years down the road.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
A 4 day course sounds more like a FP-C/CCP-C review class instead of an actual CCP course which are usually a lot longer with some requiring clinical hours.

I did a 4 day review course for the FP-C exam and passed the test without issue however this in no way prepared me to be a CCP. Instead it gave me enough information to pass the test and only start to grasp the amount of information that was not covered in medic school.

I had about 4-5 different CCT books that I used to reference from and still use them and study daily. Since My company does not have CCPs I have to keep studying since I do not get to use any of the new information that I gained.

PassionMedic

Forum Crew Member
I had about 4-5 different CCT books that I used to reference from and still use them and study daily.

Any chance you're willing to share some titles?