NREMT CBT, A joke.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlsparky7

Forum Crew Member
I am a basic EMT in Michigan and have been for 3 years. I took my paramedic course and passed with a 92%. I have taken the NR medic computerized test twice now and was below passing in all catagories. Both of my tests ended right around the 80 question mark. I have read all of my 7 textbooks from my class 3 times each cover to cover highlighting and taking notes. The books each had a CD that had a series of questions and scenarios at the end which I went over. I also have an ACLS/12 lead paperback and a National registry practice book. None of which seemed to help. I am going back to part time next week and putting it all on the line so I can start studying more and hopefully pass this 3rd try.

Im sure several people will agree with me. Some of the dumbest basics I know have passed the NREMTP national registry first try. Some of these people couldnt find there way out of a paper bag and openly admit they should not be paramedics. I dont get how national registry can hold back the eager prepared basics with experience and knowledge of pre-hospital care, yet pass these incompitent basics on to be paramedics that I wouldnt trust to do CPR on my dog.

The reason medics mess up so much in the field and the reason there is such a shortage of medics everywhere is simple.
1. For the most part the wrong people pass national registry. Mostly book smart people, Not people that think practically.
2. My last test I had 3 ropes and knots questions. What does that have to do with being a paramedic? I know there are fake questions but to have 3 of my 80 questions have nothing to do with being a paramedic? What a joke.
3. We know the practical for the most part is a peice of cake, although it is much more accurate in deciding who should be a paramedic than the written exam. Why not have a field exam option?