Middle School EMS Club

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
As a student teacher I need to start a progam at my school. I'm thinking with my experience in EMS, and working for the ambulance company that serves the city I'm teaching in, maybe I could start an EMS club.

First, do you think there would be interest in a middle school? The kids love to hear about what I do, but would any join an EMS club?

Second, what activities could we do? CPR/First Aid/AED makes sense. BUt what else is fun and hands on?

Any feedback you have on this would be great. Is EMS too mature for a 12 year old? Would having them standby at a school sports game as first aid / AED be too much? Again, your feedback is appreciated :)

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
If they were 14, I'd say start an EMS Exploring program.

Perhaps an emergency services club - weekly sessions with some presentations by PD, FD, EMS, as well as first aid / CPR / AED - might not be too bad an idea. Perhaps not "standing by" at events, but maybe helping the sports trainer? You could take this in another direction and do a "Health Careers club" and have presentations by nurses, doctors, x-ray techs, etc.

jon

Wingnut

EMS Junkie
It's not too young for a club but for standby's at events yes. You could set up a specific lesson per week then do something like mock emergencies, or have rallys/walks, some kind of monthly/quarterly community event for awareness or support.

If they had one when I was going to middle school I would have joined, it's a good idea because I don't think the majority of the public knows what we do or to what extent we do things. Hell, even I didn't know until I became one.

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
How often would the group meet?
How long would you meet for each time?