Is an ET Tube Really ALS?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
A month or so ago I flew back home to get some pratical CEUs for my EMT-Basic renewal, and the instructor, like almost all EMT classes, finished hours early. Because he couldn't let us out five hours early, he got out the intubation supplies and gave us a quick tutorial on intubating an adult.

I won't say that I was a pro by any means, as dropping a tube down Annie's throat isn't quite like the real world, but it got me thinking as to whether it should be incorporated into the BLS curriculum.

So much of EMS, like many medical jobs, is about performing a skill. EMT-Basics lack so muck of the knowledge, but I wonder if the benefits of adding ET inbutation outweigh the risks, time, and added money of training.

What do you think?

Chiron

Forum Probie
I think they are teaching ET placement to our Basics here in Ohio. I cant see why they wouldn't, no airway no Pt. just seems like common sense.

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper
i think that one must know proper anatomy and physiology before blindly placing tubes. there are many errors that can come from miss placement, knowing not only how and why but what to do if something is to go wrong is extremely important.

daedalus

Forum Deputy Chief
It is taught as an optional module, although its a terrible chapter in the Brady book.

Guardian

Forum Asst. Chief
No, I don't think it would be a good idea. That’s based on personal experience and the majority of medical directors agree with me. I think the reasons have been made clear.