how do you guys handle well meaning but useless suggestions

emt seeking first job

Forum Asst. Chief
For example, my parents just told me to call my emt-b school and ask them for job hunting advice or 'placement services'....

I calmly and politely heard them out, and then answered that I made a list of every possible paying ambulance service that hires emt-b's, that I can commute to in under two hours each way (train/bus-no car). I am in NYC.

I either filled out their application or if none posted on-line I wrote a letter with copies of my certifications.

I followed up with the private services with short written letters, and one service, where I know the name of the hiring person, via telephone, at leat once every three weeks.

There is no other place to apply to. My EMT school has no way to get me "in" a company before anyone else.....and there is no reason, I have no experience.

The online ad jobs are generally the "EMT wanted for some function/party or camp, yadda yadda", which aside from the camp jobs are sort of gray area as I heard there is no medical director/control (aside, it is appropriate only for a seasoned veteran anyway).

I am vollieing for the moment to get some experience, but the service only operates 2-3 days a week. A more active service nearby is only taking new people in the fall.

My girl friend keeps making stupid suggestions....

I really dont care. I am 44. I have my health. People think I am 34. And I am not just saying that.

All I want is a full time job at a private near where I live. That can cover my rent. I will brown bag my food. I can work a little OT. I will vollie a few times a month for the 911 type experience. My down time I will excercize. If I can get Sunday mornings off, I will go to church, and in my times off, I like to visit a monestery. I help with chores, projects, etc. or we read and discuss things....

Most other people I have lost touch with. A few friends and one cousin, we communicate via email.