having a hard time getting work as an emt, should i just start the medic process?

freebyrd

Forum Crew Member
i graduated at the beginning of may and passed nremt a couple of weeks later got my state cert and all that,
i eventually wanted to go on to be a paramedic anyway, but i was hoping to get on with the ambulance company who will pay for it
but i am not sure its going to work out,
so i was thinking of looking into my community college locally and see if they offered a paramedic course.
i would qualify for student grants and such since i am married with a small family and currently unemployed.
has anybody else just skipped working as an emt and just went on to medic?
i am sure academically i could do it.
i finished my emt course with honors and passed registry with no problems the first time around. i am a pretty quick study and catch on to things relatively easily.

but do you think it would make it any easier to get a job?
its hard enough in this economy right now to find work as an inexperience emt, would an ambulance company be any quicker to hire an inexperienced paramedic?
i am not sure what to do.
any opinions would be appreciated

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Are there any paramedic jobs where you are? Does the paramedic program accept "no experience" EMTs? Are you sure you really want to be a medic?

Do some research before jumping in.

OP
OP
freebyrd

freebyrd

Forum Crew Member
Are there any paramedic jobs where you are? Does the paramedic program accept "no experience" EMTs? Are you sure you really want to be a medic?

yes i am sure i want to go the paramedic route,
as far as excepting no experience emt's i will have to find out if the comminuty college even has a program, and what the requirements are to enter the class.

i was just wondering if anybody here had done something similar as to what i am suggesting or if its even possible

OP
OP
freebyrd

freebyrd

Forum Crew Member