Feeling very stressed.

Dan216

Forum Crew Member
Hey guys. I'm an EMT-B and am 19 years old. My plan is to go to Paramedic school in a couple years, and right now I'm volunteering for a fire station that I live about 50 miles away from (crazy I know). It's small, and there's only two paid guys per shift so they don't mind the extra hand.

I work Monday through Thursday, 8.5 hours a day and volunteer at this station on Fridays and Sundays all day. Saturdays are my days off.. Kind of.
It's really more of a 'catch up on things you didn't get done during the week' kind of day.

Basically, I have no Dan time. Have no time for friends, girls, etc.. Money is also tight, and most of it's going in my tank right now plus savings.

It's really tough to keep on doing things I like to do for me. Like going to the gym, biking, hiking etc.. You guys get the picture.

I just feel it really starting to wear on me. Physically, emotionally, socially.. and I feel like I'm about to blow. My confidence has taken a nose dive. Whenever something I normally would find slightly annoying happens, I now feel anger which never used to happen. I feel like I'm changing which I don't like, but it's out of my hands!

I don't know what to do anymore. I know it'll pay off in the end, but there has to be something I can do. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Arovetli

Forum Captain
Basically, I have no time for girls, then everything else and Dan time, etc..

Fixed that for you.

Look, in the Batman movie, Joker said "if your good at something, never do it for free."

Thats advice to live by kid.

Cut back on the volunteering, enjoy fine women, wine, music, whatever the heck you like.

The job is stressful and consumes enough of your time as it is, at least get paid for it in return.