EVOC needed

Webyz22

Forum Ride Along
Hello all, I am a new California EMT and I applied at a smaller ambulance company, I was told that because I was only 19 years old, their insurance company would not allow me to drive an ambulance unless I had a completed EVOC certificate. I have done some online research and haven’t really had any luck finding a course. Any suggestions? I have my medical and ambulance license.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
There aren’t really any EVOC in CA that I am aware of because every company in CA must provide that training to their employees. I know NAEMT offers a course however I do not believe there is any actual driving involved as it is purely just educational.

It would probably be a good idea to go back to that company and ask if they are aware of any courses that you can take as it’s an unusual requirement.

OP
OP
W

Webyz22

Forum Ride Along
Thank you for the response, Unfortunately, when I was there. They said they didn’t know of any and asked if I had any affiliation to an agency that could send their employees,

ffemtrb

Forum Probie
I am in New York State. My agency (rural volunteer FD Ambulance) does its own in-house EVOC training.
I am an instructor for these courses through two insurance companies(VFIS and ESIP).