Emt-i

lampnyter

Forum Captain
I am currently an EMT-B in CT and i was thinking about going to EMT-I/AEMT before doing paramedic. I plan on going paramedic in a few years but i wanted some info on the EMT-I course. How long is the course? I googled it and couldnt find anything. Also, is it just a pharmacology course or do they go over basic EMT skills again?

fast65

Doogie Howser FP-C
The first step would be to find schools that teach EMT-I and then go to their sites for info. Here I think it's a two term course (roughly 6-7 months) and they go over more advanced airways, IV's, a few more drugs and a few other things if I remember correctly. Also, from what I've been told they don't really go into depth about how and why the drugs work, so not a lot of pharmacology.

Then again, I never took intermediate so maybe someone else can chime in and give a more detailed answer.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
lampnyter

lampnyter

Forum Captain
so the medic program wont seem so overwhelming. im so used to going one step at a time, i started at MRT and then went to EMT. I like to have some field experience before i go to next level

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
so the medic program wont seem so overwhelming. im so used to going one step at a time, i started at MRT and then went to EMT. I like to have some field experience before i go to next level

In my opinion, you should just find a medic program. You will save money in the long run and will be a "P", the gold standard of prehospital care when it is over. All these people debate having field experience before medic school, but I have seen many people go to medic school right out of their EMT program and succeed. If your EMT program was good and taught you what they were supposed too then you will be fine in medic school.

Lifeguards For Life

Forum Deputy Chief
I hate anecdotal evidence, but many people enroll in Paramedic school when they are 18, straight out of high school, with no experience and do just fine.