Driving Record

Fry14MN

Security Officer/Dispatcher/FR
When employers are looking at your driving record, how concerning is a speeding ticket? I don't have a criminal background at all but I just got my first speeding ticket... 5 over...I've been driving for 10 years and this is my first ticket.

MonkeyArrow

Forum Asst. Chief
You got a ticket for 5 mph over the speed limit? Go to court and see if it will get dismissed.

OP
OP
Fry14MN

Fry14MN

I sure did. I was shocked. It was over Memorial Weekend so maybe it was a "I'm going to ticket everyone who is even slightly speeding..." I have no idea but he asked me how my record was and I said I didn't have one..and he came back and handed me a ticket.

Mufasa556

Forum Captain
I got a speeding ticket the day I got hired at the company I work for. Called back the hiring manger that just hired me and he laughed, told me not to worry about it, and said just make sure it's taken care of.

I think you'll be fine. They're more interested in a pattern of stupid behavior than a simple mistake.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
I would absolutely go to the court hearing just to make special plea. Explain that you are an EMS Professional, you have taken defensive driving courses and you are not there to challenge the officer's findings, but asking if consideration can be given to dismissing the charge so that your record remains unblemished as it impacts potential employment.

Basically you are asking for a favor and presenting yourself as professionally as possible. Normally, I do not advocate accepting guilt when making a court appearance, however in this situation which such a low level offense and first timer in long timer situation...it is absolutely worth it.

I have been let off of more serious offenses by handling it this way. There is NO harm in trying, you have nothing to lose. The charge will not become any worse, it can only get better...so give it a shot!