Checking Lymph Nodes?

DV_EMT

Forum Asst. Chief
Just out of curiosity... how many EMT's/Medics use checking lymph nodes as a diagnostic tool while in the field? I imagine that it wouldn't be "super important", but couldn't it be good for a PCR and for nursing/doctor staff at the hospital?

(note... the reason for the start of this thread is because I'm sick and was thinking about it on my drive home from work as my lymph nodes are swollen :p)

trevor1189

Forum Captain
I don't know about medics ( I can say I have never seen a medic check them), but the lymphatic system wasn't even mentioned in my EMT class.

As for doctors reading about it in a PCR, I'm sure the Docs aren't waiting for an EMTs report to perform a thorough physical exam.

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
When I worked as a remote (and I really mean remote) medic I did, but I also had the ability to give the pt antibiotics, so stuff like that was relevant.

The only times I do it now is if the pts neck appears swollen.

EMSLaw

Legal Beagle
It certainly isn't covered in the EMT-B curriculum as something you should check. Other than noting swelling in the neck on the PCR, what would you do with that information? None of the (very limited) signs and symptoms taught to basics included swollen lymph nodes.

On the other hand, it takes a few seconds, and it's non-invasive, so if you want to do it, go ahead. Just don't do that, and then forget other things the hospital might actually want to know, like the patient's height and weight (which everybody forgets to ask a conscious patient), and medical history. :)

LondonMedic

Forum Captain
I was always taught to only do an exam or investigation if it was actually going to influence my management. I know we can all think of exceptions to this but I think it's a good general rule.

There are all sorts of bits and pieces you could do to a punter, but really, what's the point?

JPINFV

Gadfly