Calling all PA EMTs!

trevor1189

Forum Captain
What would you like to see added to the state's BLS protocols? Some more progressive states allow advanced airways, etc. Anything you'd like to see added to the protocols?
BGLs, combitube? Fine the way it is?

Just wondering. EMS providers from other states feel free to chime in.

Thanks!

ResTech

Forum Asst. Chief
I am a PA EMT... they already have Primary use of Epi (carried onboard) and CPAP for BLS. The only other thing I would like to see is albuterol. No glucometers as they will not change care at all.

With most of PA being the old two-tier response system, BLS from the FD and ALS from a hospital as chase, BLS units arrive onscene first in many cases and on average of 10mins prior to ALS. Its not uncommon for ALS to be 15-20mins out. So early albuterol would be great. Many States already allow BLS albuterol.

OP
OP
trevor1189

trevor1189

Forum Captain
I am a PA EMT... they already have Primary use of Epi (carried onboard) and CPAP for BLS. The only other thing I would like to see is albuterol. No glucometers as they will not change care at all.

With most of PA being the old two-tier response system, BLS from the FD and ALS from a hospital as chase, BLS units arrive onscene first in many cases and on average of 10mins prior to ALS. Its not uncommon for ALS to be 15-20mins out. So early albuterol would be great. Many States already allow BLS albuterol.
Like I said in another thread glucometers won't change treatment but would be valuable information to pass off to the receiving facility.
I didn't even think of albuterol, but thay is a good one. Fortunately, where I live ALS isn't too far behind, but it would still be nice.

As for CPAP, I like the fact that it is in our scope of practice but we have to be trained on it, and I haven't ever seen a class for it available.

Last edited by a moderator:

vquintessence

Forum Captain