Advice for interview on Tues

redbull

Forum Lieutenant
Hi guys, I got invited to one of those "mass interviews" next Tuesday for EMTs at a private. One of our members told me that there was going to be a quiz plus an oral and skills exam. I'm studying my stuff all over again, although I'm not sure if they are going to throw any trauma scenarios at me, i'm a bit nervous especially snice I have no previous experience (this company claims they'll train newly certified EMTs).

slloth

Forum Crew Member
Id say smile be positive and act confident. Stand out, but not in a cocky or annoying way. Just remember "BSI SCENE SAFETY"! and youe ABC's :)

abckidsmom

Dances with Patients
Volunteer to go first, if it comes to that. The ones that sit and watch what's going on never impressed me much. Jump in, and don't be afraid to just do your best.

8jimi8

CFRN
Hi guys, I got invited to one of those "mass interviews" next Tuesday for EMTs at a private. One of our members told me that there was going to be a quiz plus an oral and skills exam. I'm studying my stuff all over again, although I'm not sure if they are going to throw any trauma scenarios at me, i'm a bit nervous especially snice I have no previous experience (this company claims they'll train newly certified EMTs).

Wear a suit and tie and bring a change of clothes. Shave your face, no cologne and represent yourself as a professional.

emt seeking first job

Forum Asst. Chief
I will speak up because I was there....

Redbull, the written test was in a big room with everyone else. It was just like an EMT-b final, it seemed to have more questioning on patient positioning.

The practical test was oral, I was alone in a room with an interviewer.

He kept rapid fire asking what I would do.

I would go over the practical skills for the final.

I made a mistake by forgetting pulse/motor/sensory as one of the steps. Funny thing is, I never missed it when doing it. Saying it is a whole other ball came.