Young kids having babies.

amberdt03

Forum Asst. Chief
Ok so just to give everyone a little background as to what I do, I work on a Pediatric/Neonatal transport truck with Medical City Childrens Hospital in Dallas. I am an EMT and always have 2 pediatric nurses on every shift. Ok so now the call. One day we get called out to a hospital to pick up a neonate that was just born at an estimated 23wks gestation. So we get there, and are talking to the nurses and doctor to get some info. So apparantly the mom, who is 12, was brought to the er, by her grandparents, for abdominal pain. Upon examination, the er staff realized that she was pregnant and in labor. My guess what tipped them off was the fact that the baby's butt was sticking out. So since the baby was breech, they took her to surgery for an emergency c-section and had to do CPR on the baby. The neonatalogist got there and took over. She estimated the baby to actually be approximately 25wks gestation. The 12 year old mom, didn't know she was pregnant so obviously had no prenatal care. The nurses had to explain to her that the reason her belly had been getting bigger and the reason she wasn't having a period was because she was pregnant. One of the nurses I was working with that day also had a 12 year old daughter. After the call, he called his wife and told her to get the chastity belt out and put it on her and throw the key away. lol. I still can't believe that this girl was 12!! The baby survived and is doing good in the NICU last I heard.

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Having studied biological anthropology let me share some interesting perspectives on this.

In biological systems, the onset of reproduction is driven by the availability of home range resources, food, water, shelter, and availability of mates.