Would you like to be a Primary Care Paramedic?

SeeNoMore

Old and Crappy
While I am new to EMS, and not yet a Paramedic, it seems clear to me that the role of Paramedics, at least for the near future, will have to be totally different than it is today.

While I think there is still a place for Paramedics in Urban Systems, I think the number of Paramedics needed will be very small, limited to highly experienced providers who can intervene in the very few situations where ALS is shown to improve patient outcomes. In addiiton I am sure there is still a place for Parmedics in inter facility and critical care transport.

I think this will be especially true if most BLS units are able to carry and administer epi pens,CPAP, nitro and asa for chest pain and transmit EKGs. This will require an increase in education, but I think it makes more sense that large numbers of Paramedics in any given system.

Does an urban system need Paramedics for the vast majority of trauma calls and cardiac arrests? Do we need intubation by most Paramedics, fluid resucitation in most trauma calls, ACLS drugs etc? It seems unlikely. Unless of course RSI and artificial blood producs are shown to notably improve patient outcomes and even then, the number of Parmamedics will still be smalll.

And so Primary Care Paramedecine is being discussed more often. But I wonder, is this something you would want to do? Especially if it means operating in mostly rural systems? I think a lot of medics are attached to the idea of being part of a urban or semi-urban system and I think the future will be tough for many providers. Personally it's not something I am interested in, and is a primary reason I plan on pursuing nursing insead of prehospital work.

Here is an interesting link that puts together the issue well I think, sort of an overview of the death knell of paramedecine as we know it.

http://rescuemonkey.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/do-we-need-paramedics/

CAOX3

Forum Deputy Chief