would I be able to work as an EMT in college?

Arw33

Forum Probie
I'm 18 and am interested in working as an EMT. I'm enrolled in college for next fall but I was wondering if it'd be possible to take the EMT class this summer and begin working as an EMT part time in college.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I worked as an EMT in college for a few years. I ended up working about a shift a week, and it was a great experience.

spinnakr

Forum Lieutenant
I'm doing it right now - while working on a dual degree in mechanical engineering and German. It's definitely possible.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
As others have said, it certainly is possible, and many do it. Where are you going to school next year? More and more schools offer a course on campus, and have campus EMS response organizations, the umbrella organization of which is The Nat'l Collegiate EMS Foundation (NCEMSF, ncemsf.org).
Shoot me a PM with where you are going, and I may be able to put you in touch with someone from the campus EMS.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
It's possible, but at 18 you will have problems getting on with anything but a college EMS group.

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
It depends on what you mean, because you have better chances doing some things than others.

As long as it works with your schedule there is no reason you couldn't work for a private company as an EMT. Volunteering as an EMT with a fire department or campus EMS squad are also possibilities. Working for a FD is less possible due to the inflexibility of the schedule. If you mean working as an EMT at your college as far as I know there is only 1 paid-full time campus fire department still in operation.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
It depends on what you mean, because you have better chances doing some things than others.