Why EMS instead of MD/Nurse/Other profession?

Roheline

Forum Probie
I'm new and I know this is a pretty broad topic--if it's in the wrong place or already been done to death, feel free to shut it down and/or point me to an existing thread.

So here goes. I'm currently an EMT-B and supposed get my Bachelors this coming spring. I'm in the process of trying to figure out what direction I want to go as far as career and trying to think through the various options. I've had a lot of family members/friends/even the occasional professor tell me I should aim for medical school but I'm still not sure if it would be the ideal path for me to take. I've considered other options such as going to Paramedic school, training as a nurse, working as a Park or Forest Ranger or doing something completely unrelated like using my language ability to be a translator. I've certainly geared my education towards the possibility of pursuing a medical career (biology major, taking premed courses like organic chem) but I still can't say that one particular path jumps out at me as being perfectly "right" for me.

What I want to know from you guys is--why did you get into EMS/become a medic in the first place and, for the more experienced ones out there, why did you stick with it? Why be a medic instead of a doctor or a nurse or something else entirely? What are the really compelling aspects of the job that keep you doing it day after day? Even in my comparatively limited time working (volunteering, actually) in EMS, I've come across quite a few cynical, burnt-out medics (and nurses and doctors too, for that matter) but I know that there must be some reason that you all keep doing it day in and day out. I have my own reasons, but I'm curious to know what yours are, and whether those reasons are the same for people with the more advanced training.