Which services have tactical paramedics?

Smellypaddler

Forum Probie
Hi,

A few random questions that I am hoping some of you guys can help with in order to help me with a potential research proposal.

Which services do you know of that have tactical paramedics or a tactical unit? In particular I am looking for units that have civilian paramedics who work day to day on the truck providing civilian EMS services but also deploy with LEO tactical teams as unarmed medics or to support public order roles.

Is there a universally recognised training course specific to the above kind of roles? I know that TCCC seems to be common but is this more geared towards military operations or equally towards civilian tactical medics?

Does anyone here work for Toronto EMS or is familiar with the Toronto EMS tactical paramedic program?

I'm sure I'll have more questions and will try and clarify questions if you need more info.

Please consider that I am an Australian Paramedic when answering so I don't have a great understanding of the US EMS systems.

Cheers,

Smelly

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Colorado Springs Fire has an engine company that is staffed with TCCC trained individuals, one of whom is a medic (each shift). That is their station's program, and they respond on SWAT callouts. There are not armed. They do not do public order call outs.

OP
OP
S

Smellypaddler

Forum Probie
Thanks guys, it looks like Canada has a strong history with tactical Paramedics. I also looked up the Colorado Springs info.

Many thanks for your help, I've traveled through the posts on this board and it looks like there are lots of EMT-T or TP-C people on here so if you could please keep updating his post with more info on tactical units that would be great.

Hopefully I can get the funding scholarship I am applying for and come and visit some of these units.

CANMAN

Forum Asst. Chief