What the H

LoneStarSoldier

Forum Crew Member
I've been an EMT as this ambulance company since July 18th, and since that time I've been on only three shifts. The way they handle new people is put them on "Third Rider" status. Basically it's an orientation period where you ride along with a two-man crew and learn the ropes. Your third shift is supposed to be with the FTO who ultimately signs off on you being someone's partner. I worked three shifts one week and called in to ask when I'd work next and was told that they weren't having third riders on shifts all week (OK) so I called in at the beginning of this week and was told the same exact thing. I don't know what the deal is, or even if I'm the only one this is affecting but I'd appreciate a little information as to what is going on and when (or even if) I work next. Nobody can give me a good answer and very few people are even answering my calls. Can anyone tell me what I should do? I'm willing to deal with a little flak as a new guy but this is bordering on unprofessional.

bigbaldguy

Former medic seven years 911 service in houston
Depending on who you work for it might just be an internal meltdown of some sort. You get 2 or 3 key people who call in sick or quit/get fired and the first thing that generally gets screwed is the incoming new gus like you. Is this an established company or a smaller start up?

OP
OP
LoneStarSoldier

LoneStarSoldier

Forum Crew Member
I don't want to betray company privacy in any way but I will say that it is an ambulance company in my current city and, no, they have been here quite some time.

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
PM me, LoneStar. I might have some intruiging options. I also know who you're talking about.

OP
OP
LoneStarSoldier

LoneStarSoldier

Forum Crew Member