What do I do?

emtbass

Forum Lieutenant
I have a question. I am starting as an ER Tech tuesday... I am an EMT-B, and a medic student. While doing clinicals, I have noticed that the Techs would do many things that were not in their scope of proctice (IVs, NG Tubes, etc.)

I asked the nursing director durring my interview about this, and he said that is shouldn't happen, but it does on a daily basis.

So my question is... What am I supposed to do when I am asked by a Dr. or RN to do something that outside of my scope of practice. I know how to do these things, and I have, but If I am being paid to work as a ER Tech, what do I do in this situation?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Around here EMT-Bs can work at ER Techs doing IVs, Tubes, blood draws, and many other common tasks that are out of the Basic scrope of practice. As long as you have training on how to do it, I think you're safe. You're not acting as an EMT-Basic in your ER job, you're acting as an ER Tech.

At least that's how it was explained to me by several ER Techs.

OP
OP
emtbass

emtbass

Forum Lieutenant
That was my first impression. But then I was informed otherwise by higher officials. I guess I just take the punches as they roll. I'll be an intermediate soon, so it wont matter then anyways.

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
ER's try to hire EMT's, because they are already reasonably skilled medical workers. Locally, the techs can preform venipuncture (blood draws) but in this county, the Techs can't start IV's. Techs do a lot of patient transporting, and also cardiograms (12 leads).

In the city, techs start IV's, DON'T give meds. Most of the city Trauma centers want the techs to be EMT-P, or almost there (thru medic school). EMT-P techs are just techs, can't push meds or intubate, except in the "what *didn't* happen in the code in the elevator" situation.

Also, the Trauma Center techs become VERY GOOD at using a traction splint.

Jon

Wingnut

EMS Junkie