What could this be?

Aprz

The New Beach Medic
This is something that happened to somebody I know/a family member. I am just an EMT-b student, but I did what I could do.

So pretty much what I got from her (I had nothing, not even a watch)...

50 y/o obese female c/o chest pain "feels like somebody is punching me in the chest" followed by SOB. (+) Nausea, (+) orthostatic hypotension, difficulty breathing laying down too (only position of comfort was sitting), slow/progressive onset (over a couple of days), yellow/green sputum (occasionally pink too), pain behind left ear also. Huge amount of alcohol consumption throughout the week. Radial pulse felt fast, but it was also strong and regular. Respiration was fast and labored. Skin was pink and warm, but diaphoretic also.

In the ER, I read off the machines that the pulse was 105, respiration was 26, her BP was about 160/100mmHG, and SpO2 kept changing from 94%-97% (not/never was a smoker). Way out of my scope of practice and knowledge as an EMT-b student, but I've been learning to interpret ECGs on my own and after much practice, I could see that hers was normal.

They took several test including a blood test and found that her alcohol level was really high even though she hadn't drank for about a half a day (this happened in the middle of the night while we were all sleeping).

They let her go same day, told us it was most probably the alcohol, and advised her that this was her wake-up call.

--

Anyhow, up until before the ER part with just the information I provided, what would you think and do without any equipment?

What would you think after looking at the numbers I saw in the ER? Do you agree with the conclusion of the healthcare providers?

Oh, and what would you do if you were responding to this call as an on duty EMT of any level?
--