Adrienne

Forum Ride Along
Hello, this is my first post here. I tried to go back through older posts but I couldn't really find anything within a few years that was relatable.

Short Question: Would getting Wilderness EMT be beneficial while trying to get a law enforcement park ranger job?

Long Question: I got my degree in Criminal Justice / Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness with the intent to just start out working for a police department. For several reasons I've decided to postpone my application process for police officer 1. Working full time as a lifeguard again, I became interested in starting EMT classes and started to volunteer just to see how I would like it.

Long Term I am thinking park ranger. I am also an experienced scuba diver, I want to incorporate that with the law enforcement and emergency first response. But I know that is an oddly specific combination.

I became interested in WEMT when I saw a friend complete her Wilderness First Response, on Facebook. From what I've read I know it would be a good experience in general and fun for me to do (aside for the time and $) I was wondering if anyone had an idea if it would be beneficial in my case to have while applying to law enforcement ranger jobs, or recommendation of any similar positions?

side note: I know I'm jumping around with all these possibilities but I'm just trying to navigate my way through everything that is going through my head.

Summit

Critical Crazy
I'd say yes.

SandpitMedic

Crowd pleaser
Short answer: yes.
Long answer: of course it would be.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Yes, though the course is expensive and I am not sure how much it increases your chances over just having an EMT card.

EMSComeLately

Forum Crew Member