UK Paramedic heading to CA

ShockableAsystole

Forum Probie
Hello there, I have been lurking for a while now trying to get as much information as possible but I am left with a few questions. I am a UK HPC Paramedic and will be moving to Southern California toward the end of the year. The qualifications side of things seems to be relatively sorted with CA-EMS being very helpful.

Am I going to struggle to find a job? There is the obvious split between fire and private, I don't mind working for Fire as long as I'm still involved in EMS. Would I have to pay to go to a fire academy or do FD's recruit EMT-Ps and train you up? Do you earn more in a FD? Is it harder to find a job within FD?

Some threads seem to indicate that most places will not have you doing 911 work... how many transfer calls can there be? What does you day consist of without 911 work? In the UK we have our 999 work and then very occasionally we'll do a hospital transfer, I can't imagine a company dedicated solely to that.

I do have lots of other questions, mostly random, trying to picture my day to day work out there so it's not a shock when I come over. Many thanks for any responses.

terrible one

Always wandering
Where in SoCal are you moving?

Yes, you may struggle to find a job depending on where you are headed.
Yes, it is extremely difficult to get a job in CA with a fire department.
Yes, fire pays almost 3x more than privates.
Depending what FD you apply to will determine if you need an academy as a Pre-Req to apply. Even then you will most likely go through their academy.
Yes, privates can run a full day of IFTs. Even some emergency dedicated units will run more transfer calls then emergency runs.

EMS is far different in the US v. the UK, with CA being the worst state to work within EMS. If you don't have to move here I wouldn't. And if you do research the area and apply before moving. If you can find another state to live in I'd recommend that.