Thoughts

ickyvicky

Forum Probie
You are transporting a patient, and are down the road from the hospital. A couple minutes before arrival to ED, your patient decides they do not want to go. What is the correct thing to do in this scenario? Isn’t keep them in the ambulance knowing the don’t wanna go kidnapping? But at the same time, you can’t just dump them on the side of the road right? How would you handle this?

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
You are transporting a patient, and are down the road from the hospital. A couple minutes before arrival to ED, your patient decides they do not want to go. What is the correct thing to do in this scenario? Isn’t keep them in the ambulance knowing the don’t wanna go kidnapping? But at the same time, you can’t just dump them on the side of the road right? How would you handle this?
Depends on their mental state and chief complaint.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm no lawyer, but I think other factors would be (1) whether the patient's consent for transport was explicit or implied and (2) whether stopping en route could be done safely, as judged by the crew.

MEDicJohn

Forum Crew Member
I had a captain that use to say to us. You have to use verbal judo and convince them that this is the correct course of action even if its just delaying them until you have adequate resources to restrain. But yes I agree with CCCSD significant MOI likelihood of an unseen injury is high.

johnrsemt

Forum Deputy Chief
We get that a lot at my part time job;
They are drunk and unresponsive, until after 1-2 L of fluid and time they are sobering up and don't want to go to the hospital anymore.
We tell them we have to take them all the way, but they don't have to stay until they are checked in.

We don't get paid for the transport (by insurance) unless they go all the way, but it doesn't matter if they stay.

That is one of the bad things about 135 mile transports

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader