The 4 paths of EMS Personnel

Fish

Forum Deputy Chief
Something I have been giving thought to lately, and mind you it is jut one mans thoughts so feel free to join in and add your two cents or opinions! And sorry that there is so much to read. I have terrible grammar, so don't mind the misplaced or lack there of comas and run ons.

A Background:
I have been in EMS for 7 years, 2-3 as an EMT, 4-5 as a Paramedic. I have been a Paramedic student Preceptor, an EMS Instructor, and an FTO. I Have worked in both Inner City busy, and Suburban/Rural Medium paced Systems. I currently work in a great system, I would say our ALS/BLS call ratio is more on the ALS side than most systems(although I have no way to prove or back this assumption up, just going off of hearsays) We pay well, have great leadership, Great Retirement, Equipment is top notch and the people I work with are excellent in both their Paramedic ability and just down right good people. Moral around here is high, burn out is very low, and people seem to enjoy the job. They treat the equipment and ALL patient's with great respect.