Sydney Paramedic to LA EMT

janemcd

Forum Probie
Hi folks,
I have been a Paramedic for almost 6 years in Sydney and my partner has just scored a Work Visa in the Film Industry in LA. I am trying to find out my options (if there are any) about work as a Paramedic there. I don’t mind starting at scratch again. I am over there in July and am keen to attend an EMT-Basic course whilst on my holidays. Our immigration lawyer suggested I try to get some of your training under my belt prior to applying for a Work Visa. Anyone know if I would be able to attend the courses even though I am an Aussie?? Am currently waiting to hear from UCLA. Any suggestions about courses by other Colleges? Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

carpentw

Forum Probie
I'm actually an American going to Sydney to interview in July, to bad we just can't switch places! I'm also a former immigration federal agent here in the US, so I should be able to answer a few questions for you. In order to study in the US, you will need a F1 visa. The F1 visa will cover your immediate family during the course of your studies here. The F1 visa does NOT allow you to work while in school unless it is a school approved work study program (ie working in the school cafeteria) and you may not work more than 20 hours in one week. F1 visas are not terribly hard to obtain. Go through a community college rather than UCLA.. It would be waaaay cheaper and easier.

Before you invest all of your energy into education, I would recommend getting in touch with the LA County EMS bureau to see if you can just go through a refresher and challenge the state exam. If you are an ICP you might be able to come in at the Paramedic level here. California is kind of backwards when it comes to EMS certification.. Certification is done by the counties rather than the state so if an individual were to be licensed in LA county he would have to go through a reciprocity procedure in San Francisco county. :wacko: