Student trying to learn ekgs

Laceydeleto

Forum Ride Along
I know there’s a lot of artifact. I am struggling learning ekgs. When I send my ekg to the hospital while working as an emt, I print a copy and try to read it myself afterwards. What do you see here?

Attachments

• IMG_0448.jpeg
    IMG_0448.jpeg
    572.2 KB · Views: 76
  • IMG_0449.jpeg
    IMG_0449.jpeg
    562.7 KB · Views: 74

luke_31

Forum Asst. Chief
Honestly it’s a ton of artifact so getting a good read on that isn’t going to be easy and up to me I’d get another strip that is clearer if possible.

OP
OP
L

Laceydeleto

Forum Ride Along
Honestly it’s a ton of artifact so getting a good read on that isn’t going to be easy and up to me I’d get another strip that is clearer if possible.
Any tips for getting a better read when the patient is having a hard time breathing?

E tank

Caution: Paralyzing Agent
Looks like a fib at first glance but no ekg is read independent of physical exam. So a finger on the pulse while looking at the monitor (if the pulse ox is full of artifact too), thinking about what meds the patient is on to correlate what you're seeing on the monitor (blood thinners, CCB's etc or nothing if this is new onset). Try to put every rhythm you're looking at in the context of history and physical and present illness.

OP
OP
L

Laceydeleto

Forum Ride Along
Looks like a fib at first glance but no ekg is read independent of physical exam. So a finger on the pulse while looking at the monitor (if the pulse ox is full of artifact too), thinking about what meds the patient is on to correlate what you're seeing on the monitor (blood thinners, CCB's etc or nothing if this is new onset). Try to put every rhythm you're looking at in the context of history and physical and present illness.