staying alert in class

Apple Bill

Forum Crew Member
Hello all, I'm new to EMS and will be starting my EMT-b class in January. I work full time, so my class will be evenings, Mon/Tue/Wed 5:30-10:30.

I'll be eating an early dinner at work (~4:30) before class. I assume we'll have a break for a snack. I'm just concerned about running out of fuel at some point in class. Lab stuff I'll be ok, but sitting in class listening will be my challenge.

Any tips, tricks, snacks, etc that you've used? I don't do energy drinks or shots, coffee is just the occasional morning cup. I eat right and stay active.

I've just always had a hard time focusing during lectures. I can imagine it will be that much harder in the evening after a full day. Although, I'm sure EMT will be a lot better than business classes were.

Thanks!

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
Bring a thermos of coffee and a piece of fruit?

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
Try bringing a jar of peanuts. Just make sure no one has a nut allergy!

PotatoMedic

Has no idea what I'm doing.

And if someone does you will learn how to use an EpiPen real quick!

nwhitney

Forum Captain
Engage in the lecture as much as possible. Ask questions, be willing to volunteer for things, and I would recommend sitting in the front. I find that sitting in the front will help me to stay alert and focused especially during topics I find dry. I would bring water and a healthy snack. Stretching and walks during the breaks have always helped me. I'll even take a break if I find myself drifting.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
If you find yourself dozing off in class ask your instructor if it's ok for you to stand up in the back of the class. It helps you stay awake.

Mariemt

Forum Captain
Adderell helped me.

Of course I have ADD so it helped me hold me attention.

I get up at 345 am. Work until 2, get kids to appointments etc then would have class 1800 to 2200

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader