Rhode Island hiring?

RICollegeEMT

Forum Crew Member
I am new on here in terms of posting, but I've been lurking the forums since I started Basic school. **EDIT: Apparently this isn't my first post... whoops! I asked something similar back in July, but never really got much response.

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody had the 'insider scoop' on where is hiring in Rhode Island. I've put in a handful of applications, but I haven't heard back-- except to tell me I am too young!

So a little background: I've been in the fire service for the last 2 years-- been an EMT for a little over 4 months, working on a 911 system. I am 19 going on 20, but well matured for my age (This job forces you to grow up fast...) And I am a college student.

I put a couple applications in but I haven't heard anything good. A couple told me they won't hire under 21-- which is kind of stupid! Additionally another couple are still 'out'-- hoping I do hear back, but not holding out hope.

I am primarily looking for per diem type work, since I really like working 911-- dialysis run's sound like they could get monotonous-- although beggers can't be choosers! Really what I am looking for is a night/weekends type job to pay the bills-- rent, and maybe even chip away at my mountain of loans...!

I am willing to get my Mass/CT license, for a 'sure fire' position.

Anyway I would greatly appreciate any assistance you could render!

Best Regards,
-B, NREMT-B

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
You're going to have issues with your age no matter what state yoy look in. Insurance companies require the 21 year minimum.

OP
OP
R

RICollegeEMT

Forum Crew Member
Its funny though, that the 911 department I do per diem for doesn't require the 21 bit. I mean driving lights and sirens with a code in the back, is slightly more dangerous than doing dialysis runs, no?

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief