Rhode Island EOA/PASG class

NEL21SON

Forum Ride Along
Hi all!
I am a MA EMT moving to RI and I'm having a tough time finding an EOA/ PASG cert class. If anyone has any information on services or training institutions that are offering the course I would greatly appreciate it.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Probably because those instruments/tools have not been used in decades.

R/r 911

OP
OP
N

NEL21SON

Forum Ride Along
So I've been told. But unfortunately it is a requirement to get a RI EMT license if you were trained out of state.

MtJerry

Forum Crew Member
Was it not taught in your original EMT-B class???

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Was it not taught in your original EMT-B class???

Probably not as EOA can be thought as an advanced airway. Actually, this is what the original EMT/I was tested over, as intubation is NOT a NREMT Intermediate skill.

PASG is still in the curriculum but most institutions "skim" over them as most places have removed them from patient care.

R/r 911

AJ Hidell

Forum Deputy Chief
Wow... this is like a bad Back To The Future sequel.

I expected the date on this thread to be 1979, not 2009.

Is the EOA even made anymore?

WolfmanHarris

Forum Asst. Chief
Wow... this is like a bad Back To The Future sequel.

I expected the date on this thread to be 1979, not 2009.

Is the EOA even made anymore?

Good point. Are you reading the most up to date requirements? Is the paper-yellowed and curled? Do you drive a Delorean? Or is RI just lagging in the on-paper requirements?

Meursault

Organic Mechanic
I just looked at the reciprocity requirements, and yes, the most recent forms do ask if you've been trained on the two.

RI Protocols as of March 2008 indicate the PASG for abdominal and lower extremity hemorrhage, pelvic fx., anaphylaxis, and shock when transport time is more than 5 minutes. And I have to say, although they still have some outdated stuff, the protocols are much better organized than Massachusetts'.