Austin Mostoller

Forum Ride Along
Hello, my name is Austin, 21, and I am a new EMS student from Virginia. I wanted to know if anybody had any advice or knowledge in the field of tactical medicine or the like? I had originally attended college in hopes of earning my degree in biology and joining the military afterwards. Unfortunately, I was disqualified because I have ulcerative colitis and it really struck me down. In search of a new career path I turned to nursing because I have a passion for caring for people. After one semester I did not see a future for me as a nurse. Although I excelled in clinicals, (I am aware my skills were limited) I felt out of place in that environment. I feel comfortable in a more physical environment, having played college baseball and wanting to join the military (I would've done anything to be a Marine CSO or Air Force PJ). I also enjoy the teamwork atmosphere and hierarchy system that is found in that environment. It wasn't until I heard about tactical medicine that I really felt reinvigorated about future possibilities. I have tried to look into it as much as I can and this is just one more resource I hope to gain knowledge from. I took the first step and I start EMS school next month on my journey to become a paramedic. Does anybody have advice for me on getting into tactical medicine, flight medicine, contract work, etc.? I realize that before I get there I need to focus on being the best EMT/medic that I can be and gain experience before I can take further steps. I am willing to work relentlessly toward my goal, but I will take any help I can get. Thank you.

CANMAN

Forum Asst. Chief
Get paramedic, get hired by police department that has tactical element and utilizes tactical paramedics. Stay in shape and get on the team. Tactical medicine is generally something you do on the side or as a extra thing, very few
people are able to make a career out of it.

joshrunkle35

EMT-P/RN