Paramedic practicing in ED

Does your local ED allow their techs to start IVs in-department?

• No, nursing and MD staff only

Votes: 14 43.8%
  • Yes, all ED techs can start IVs

Votes: 9 28.1%
  • Yes, all EMT-I and paramedics can start IVs

Votes: 8 25.0%
  • Yes, and limited medication administration is allowed (other than NS)

Votes: 7 21.9%

• Total voters

scmedic85

Forum Ride Along
I am looking for information about Paramedics working in emergency departments and what skills they are allowed to perform.

I am a Paramedic and work in an ED in order to earn some extra money as my service isn't playing nice with the schedule. I have approached the ED leadership about allowing techs that are certified as paramedics to perform advanced skills such as starting IVs, fluid administration, tele transport from the ED to floor when admitted, etc (I'm currently bored out of my mind).

I am looking for information on other hospitals allowing their techs to perform any or all of these skills in the ED. If you respond and let me know that your ED allows tech IV starts please let me know if this is allowed by all techs or just a limited group (ie EMT-I/P).

Pittsburgh77

Forum Crew Member
Where I'm from [Pittsburgh lol] we have ALS Techs in our EDs as well as basic PT. Care Techs.

Each perform within standard scope of practice. I know some Basic-Techs that take the phelebotomy (spelling?) course, and are then allowed to do IVs as well as the 12-lead class.

lightsandsirens5

Forum Deputy Chief
As far as I know, WA does not allow that kind of stuff anywhere in the state. I have heard that might change sometime in the next few (read 25) years to allow EMS personnel to operate under their protocols in hospital. (With minor modifications obviously. Ie. medics can admin all medic drugs, but only after ordered to. And so on.)

OP
OP
scmedic85

scmedic85

Forum Ride Along