Oxygen Administration in CVA/Stroke Patients

ethomas4

Forum Crew Member
Hello,

I am an EMT with a question regarding O2 administration to stroke/CVA patients.

Recently I have read in many paramedic protocols (im not a medic, just wanted to do some extra reading) that extreme caution should be used in administering high amounts of O2 to CVA stroke patients but I can not find a good explanation of why...only some articles about a study done on rats regarding the matter.

Can someone give me a better explanation and reasons why high amounts of O2 can be bad?

I have also seen... "titrate oxygen to a minimum necessary to achieve SP O2 greater than or equal to 94%" .... why? and how do you achieve that? what does that mean?

Thanks you!!!

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Hello,

Recently I have read in many paramedic protocols (im not a medic, just wanted to do some extra reading) that extreme caution should be used in administering high amounts of O2 to CVA stroke patients but I can not find a good explanation of why...only some articles about a study done on rats regarding the matter.

Can someone give me a better explanation and reasons why high amounts of O2 can be bad?
Oxygen, especially in high concentrations, is a potent vasodilator (constricts blood vessels). One reason is you're taking a clot / bleed that might be getting atleast a little blood by, and making the vessel smaller, thereby inhibiting any possible oxygenation you may have had. Stroke also cause an increase in intracranial pressure / swelling.

Think of head injuries, and why we want to bag them, but not bag too fast. You want to control intracranial pressure, but again, too much oxygen will just make things worse. This is why we watch EtCO2 (carbon dioxide being expirated) when bagging a suspected head injury as well, hoping to maintain around 35mmHg of EtCo2.