NYC Paramedic Programs . . .

O 2

Forum Probie
I am considering a couple of different NYC paramedic programs(laguardia, NY Methodist, St. Johns, BMCC) and I am looking for some input-

where did you go, where'd you're you're buddy whose a great medic go, where' that knuckle-dragger of a medic go, so on and so forth.

Any insider details would help, best/ worst clinical arrangements, etc.

Also, is there much of a chace of getting hired to an NYC provider straight out of school? I have 4 years experience as an EMT-I.

Finally is the added experience & street cred. of doing it all in NYC worth the added cost?

Thanks!

OP
OP
O

O 2

Forum Probie
not so much - I have housing connections in NYC (downtown) and near albany, so I inclined to either do the full on NYC program to get the benefit of clinicals in NYC units / hospitals, or just go to Hudson Valley Community College near albany.

Were you thinking of stony brook?

46Young

Level 25 EMS Wizard
I did NY Methodist in Brooklyn. It's accredited, and ran 13 months when I was there. They had M/W 0900-1700, and they also had a class 1800-2200 M-Th. I rode with 48W, 41Y, 51V, 51W for the most part, with a few rotations on Transcare buses as well. MaMo was great for OB, and I did all the other hospital stuff at NY Methodist. If Tony Thomas still teaches there, try and get into his class. Thet prep you for the MAC and the state, but not the NR the last I heard. That may have changed. You don't need the NR to work in NY, and it doesn't help for reciprocity into NY, either.

Edit: They also have a campus in the Bronx.

Last edited by a moderator:

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
not so much - I have housing connections in NYC (downtown) and near albany, so I inclined to either do the full on NYC program to get the benefit of clinicals in NYC units / hospitals, or just go to Hudson Valley Community College near albany.

Were you thinking of stony brook?

Yes, but I agree it would be difficult to commute between there and the city.