NYC EMT certified...just applied to...

redbull

Forum Lieutenant
Transcare, Senior Care, Hunter, St Lukes Roosevelt, FDNY, and LIJ
No experience, except for my clinical hours. Whats the likelihood of getting a job anytime soon?

Thanks in advance.

Longo118

Forum Probie
slim chance. Im still fairly a new EMT-B for NY. I applied everywhere and I have 5 years experience on a Fire Dept that runs medical calls, along with less than a year experience vollie work for an ambulance corp and everyone is telling me experience doesnt count toward the FD running medical calls. So they told me to wait for minimum of 2 years on the vollie ambulance company then to check back with them.

If you find anyone taking fairly new EMT-B's please do fill me in.

Thanks and good luck!

firecoins

IFT Puppet
As mentioned NYC's EMS market is shot.

St. LUkes won't hire EMTs without 911 experience.

Than all the transport companies aren't looing for EMTs or Medics. Very few spots avail.

FDNY is facing a budget crisis. They have a a couple of PTOP classes and every EMT in the area is applying to them. FDNY has their choice.

If you can get to Jersey, I can send you info.

OP
OP
R

redbull

Forum Lieutenant
As mentioned NYC's EMS market is shot.

St. LUkes won't hire EMTs without 911 experience.

Than all the transport companies aren't looing for EMTs or Medics. Very few spots avail.

FDNY is facing a budget crisis. They have a a couple of PTOP classes and every EMT in the area is applying to them. FDNY has their choice.

If you can get to Jersey, I can send you info.

What part of Jersey? Jersey city?

firecoins

IFT Puppet

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
PM me and find out. And no, Jersey City Medical Center requires experience.
most decent 911 systems require experience (and even some of the not so decent ones).

Firecoins, I'm looking for a new per diem gig, you know of good ones in Jersey to work for that are hiring, do 911, are decent to work for, and pay well?