NG Tubes and Airway Management

18G

Paramedic
I am looking for research that has been done on the use and benefit of NG tubes in the pediatric population during positive pressure ventilation. I have searched online and have not been able to find a whole lot.

I have been advocating NG tubes at my service for a few months and would like to have research to back up my claims that NG tubes are important adjuncts to airway management in both children and adults.

If anyone has any links or other resources on the issue I would appreciate it very much!

8jimi8

CFRN
The problem with OG and NG tubes is that even in the hospital, we are not allowed to use them without radiographic confirmation of correct placement.

You don't want to be suctioning out any lung lobes do ya?

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
If you have a properly placed ETT, there's really no need in the emergent setting to spend time placing an ETT. There is some evidence that it reduces the rate of pneumonia/pneumonitis associated with intubation/ventilation in ICU patients but the main reason. The only conceivable reason for it in the field/ER with a ventilation patient where it really would be an adjunct would be to reduce gastric insufflation and honestly if you're going to spend the time placing the OG/NG tube (which is not that easy to do nor quick, not to mention that you can't ventilated the patient while doing so unless they are tubed) the better option is simply to take that time to place an ETT or an LMA.

Suffice to say, I see where you're coming from and applaud you for thinking proactively, but don't agree that we should be spending time dropping gastric tubes in the field when we have much more immediate fixes to the issues at hand and the technical issues inherent with your suggestion make it feasible in a minority of cases.

MrBrown

Forum Deputy Chief