New to EMS field

word2yamutha

Forum Crew Member
Hello! Well I have a degree in culinary arts and for some reason I cant see myself working in this field any longer. I took one of those career placements test and emt/paramedic was my second choice so I decided to research it. I bought a book off ebay its called Emergency care 10th edition it was like 6 bucks. I have also went on a ride with a friend who is a paramedic. The first accident we saw was a fractured femur. It was pretty cool because the bone was sticking out. I was just wondering if I could prepare in other ways? I registered for emt school in the spring of next year. Im a little nervous since this is a new field to me. Any help would be great :)

HotelCo

Forum Deputy Chief
Take some classes at a community college.

Things like Anatomy and Physiology, Pharmacology, Medical Terminology, Math, Organic Chem. They'll help you out if/when you go onto paramedic. Although, they couldn't hurt to have as an EMT.

RescueYou

Forum Lieutenant
Hello! Well I have a degree in culinary arts and for some reason I cant see myself working in this field any longer. I took one of those career placements test and emt/paramedic was my second choice so I decided to research it. I bought a book off ebay its called Emergency care 10th edition it was like 6 bucks. I have also went on a ride with a friend who is a paramedic. The first accident we saw was a fractured femur. It was pretty cool because the bone was sticking out. I was just wondering if I could prepare in other ways? I registered for emt school in the spring of next year. Im a little nervous since this is a new field to me. Any help would be great :)

I'm guessing you may have the 10th ed. of my old EMT-B book. Keep reading whatever you have and take notes if you feel like you need to or find anything hard to remember.
Find a local rescue squad and do as many ride alongs that you can and that they allow. Maybe even consider joining a local volunteer squad.